Destinations

Introduction

A Destination is a way to get curated articles published and consumed. The consumers of those articles can be just yourself, your team members, your current or future clients, or your social media followers.

You can publish from as many Workflows as you want to a single Destination. For example, you could share articles from three different Workflows to your single Twitter account Destination.

A single Destination can be consumed by many users. E.g., a single Campaign Monitor Email newsletter can be sent to 10,000 subscribers, or an RSS feed can be consumed by an unlimited number of feed readers.

Setting up Destinations

There are currently 14 types of Destinations in ContentGems:

Through these Destinations, you can distribute to almost any channel that you’ve built for reaching your target audiences. For instance, if you want to share to Facebook or LinkedIn, you can use HootSuite or Buffer to do so. 

Navigation

Your previously created Destinations appear on the left side. Clicking on a Destination will show you the articles you’ve shared to it.

Changing the View

Changing the view will affect how you see the articles.

In Grid view, you see a preview image, the web domain, when ContentGems found the article, an excerpt of the copy, a select box on the lower-left corner to select the article, and in the lower-right corner options to share the article and to remove it from the Destinations bucket. 

In List view, you get the exact same options as in Grid view. 

Lastly, in the Compact view, you can skim more articles at once, but you receive less information: there is only the headline, a shorter excerpt, and the ability to select or remove articles.

Settings

To access the Settings for a specific Destination, you simply click on the “Edit” button in the upper right corner. From there you will also be able to see which Workflows use the Destination you’ve selected.

Editing Your Destination

By clicking on the "Edit" button, you can update your Destination.

Deleting Your Destination

By clicking on the "Edit" button, you can delete your Destination.

Deleting Your Destination

You can’t accidentally delete a Destination that is attached to a Workflow. If you need to delete it, you must remove it from the Workflow first.

Editing after Publishing

After you published one or more Articles to a Destination, you may realize that you've made a mistake. Depending on which type of Destination you published to, you may be able to fix the mistake.

Destinations hosted by ContentGems

Some Destinations (RSS Feed and Website Widget) are hosted by ContentGems. Articles in these Destinations can be edited or deleted easily after they have been first published. Just go to the Destination, look at the published articles and edit or delete any items that require fixing.

External sharing destinations

Other Destinations (Slack, Twitter, Wordpress Blog) also let you modify or delete items after they have been published. Just go to the respective platform and make the changes there.

And then there are some Destinations where you can't change what has been published. Some examples are email newsletters, and individual emails.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us